Posted by: poet kate hutchinson | January 3, 2014

New chapbook available

???????????????????????????????To kick off the new year, I’ve put together a chapbook of 18 recent pieces — poems and a couple of flash prose pieces — a few of which have appeared on this blog.  I’ve named it Finding Ithaca, which is the title of the final poem, one many of you liked when it was posted here for a few weeks last winter.  It took 2nd prize in the New Hampshire Poet’s Society’s 2012 contest and appeared in their Poet’s Touchstone magazine.  Other published pieces include one I’d posted here several months ago, “Playing Monopoly with My Son on Christmas” (just out in Pentimento last month), and “Survival Skills,” the poem for my stepmother who passed away in 2012 (in Journey to Crone and The Bellingham Review), plus two others.  I’m hopeful some of the other recent poems will be chosen by literary journals or anthologies in 2014.

The overall tone of this collection is a bit more somber than that of my first book, but the poetry continues to explore interesting characters, elements in nature, personal memories, and the ongoing search for meaning in this crazy world.  A very short story in the book’s center grew from an exercise in 2-person dialogue and explores relationship breakdown.  I haven’t written much fiction but intend to try more of these short-short pieces in the future!  One more added feature in this book is a series of small bird and animal drawings, which I collected from online sources.  I hope they serve to enhance the reading experience.

This second book, unlike the first, is not officially published but is merely a photocopied booklet, pared down to its skivvies.  Having gone through the whole publishing experience with my previous chapbook, I’ve decided to keep things much simpler and cheaper this time around.  If you would like a copy, drop me a note and I will send you one for free.  I’ve decided that sharing my writing with those who enjoy it is a far greater reward than any monetary profit.

chapbook coverThe Gray Limbo of Perhaps, my first book published in 2012 by Finishing Line Press, is still available at Finishing Line and Amazon for $12, but I would be happy to sell you one of mine for $8 — which covers the author’s price and shipping.  I have a few copies left.  Just send me a note, and we can work out the details.

My email, for anyone who wishes to contact me about receiving the free chapbook or ordering the other, is:  k28hutch@yahoo.com.  I only have paper copies, so we’ll have to use the U. S. mail.


Leave a Reply

Categories

SLHARPERPOETRY

Reinventing the Tagline One Existential Crisis at a Time

Fire Up Your Writing Brain

How to Use Proven Neuroscience to Become a More Creative, Productive, and Successful Writer

Femmeliterate

feminism. literature. books by/about women. women in/and/of books.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Tupelo Press

Live from the Loft

Change Your Life | The Change Blog

How to change your life

PsyBlog

Understand your mind with the science of psychology -

Life From Both Sides of the Window

Fiddler Crab: The Poetry Chapbook Review

Life From Both Sides of the Window

Embracing Chaos

Life From Both Sides of the Window

Poet Kate Hutchinson

Life From Both Sides of the Window

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

